Timeline of European Integration


1951 April:  Six west European countries, France, West Germany, Italy, Belgium, the Netherlands and Luxembourg sign the Treaty of Paris establishing the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC).

1957 March 25:  These six countries sign the Treaties of Rome establishing the European Economic Community (EEC) and the European Atomic Energy Community (Euratom).

1973 January:  Denmark, Ireland and the United Kingdom join the European Community (EC).

1979 June:  First direct elections to the European Parliament 1981 January:  Greece joins the EC.

1985 June:  The Schengen Agreement abolishes border controls among the EC members.

1986 January:  Spain and Portugal join the EC.

1990 October:  Unification of Germany.

1992 February 7:  The Treaty of Maastricht was signed establishing the European Union (EU).

1993 January The single market was created.

1995 January:  Austria, Finland and Sweden join the EU.

2002 January:  Euro, the new currency, was introduced in the 12 EU members.

2004 May:  Ten new members, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia join the EU.

2007 January:  Bulgaria and Romania join the EU. Slovenia adopts the Euro.

Sai Praveen

Do You Like This??? Then Hit Subscribe Button. You Will Get Every Post, Which Is Worth Reading

No comments:

Post a Comment

You are Visitor number